Book Summary #2 : The Traveler’s Gift

2 Feb

Book Summary #2

 The Traveler’s Gift

 By Andy Andrews

 

 

 Background

Forty-six-year-old David Ponder feels like a total failure. Once a high-flying executive in a Fortune 500 company, he now works a part-time, minimum wage job and struggles to support his family. Then, an even greater crisis hits: his daughter becomes ill, and he can’t afford to get her the medical help she needs. When his car skids on an icy road, he wonders if he even cares to survive the crash.

But a unique experience awaits David Ponder. He finds himself traveling back in time, meeting leaders and heroes at crucial moments in their lives—from Abraham Lincoln to Anne Frank. By the time his journey is over, he has received seven decisions for success—and a second chance. The Traveler’s Gift offers a modern day parable of one man’s choices—and the attitudes that make the difference between failure and success.

 

Seven Decisions (you must make!) For Success

Decision #1: The buck stops here!

I accept responsibility for my past. I control my thoughts. I control my emotions. I am responsible for my success.

 

Decision #2: I will seek wisdom!

I will become a humble servant. I will not look for someone to open my door – I will look to open the door for someone. I will not be distressed when no one is available to help me – I will be excited when I am available to help. I will be a servant to others. I will listen to the counsel of wise men. I will choose my friends with care. I will seek wisdom.

 

Decision #3: I am a person of action!

Fear no longer has a place in my life. For too long, fear has outweighed my desire to make things better for my family. Never again! I have exposed fear as a vapour, an impostor that never had any power over me in the first place! I do not fear opinion, gossip, or the idle chatter of monkeys, for all are the same to me. I do not fear failure for in my life, failure is a myth. Failure exists only for the person who quits. I do not quit. I am courageous. I am a leader. I seize this moment. I choose now!

 

Decision #4: I have a decided heart!

What I put off until tomorrow, I will put off until the next day as well. I do not procrastinate. All my problems become smaller when I confront them. If I touch a thistle with caution, it will prick me, but if I grasp it boldly, its spines crumble into dust. I will not wait. I am passionate about my vision for the future. My course has been charted, my destiny is assured!

 

Decision #5: Today I will choose to be happy!

God has bestowed upon me many gifts, and for these I will remember to be grateful. Too many times I have offered up the prayers of a beggar, always asking for more and forgetting to give thanks. I do not wish to be seen as a greedy child, unappreciative and disrespectful. I am grateful for sight and sound and breath. If ever in my life there is a pouring out of blessings beyond that, then I will be grateful for the miracle of abundance. I will greet each day with laughter. I will smile at every person I meet. I am the possessor of a grateful spirit.

 

Decision #6: I will greet this day with a forgiving spirit!

I realize today that it is impossible to fight and enemy living in my head. By forgiving myself, I erase the doubts, fears, and frustration that have kept my past in the present. From this day forward, my history will cease to control my destiny. I have forgiven myself. My life has just begun. I will forgive even those who do not ask for forgiveness. I will forgive those who criticize me unjustly. I will forgive myself.

 

Decision #7: I will persist without exception!

For me, faith will always be a sounder guide than reason because reason can only go so far – faith has no limits. I will expect miracles in my life because faith produces them every day. I will believe in the future that I do not see. That is faith. And the reward of this faith is to see the future that I believed. I will continue despite exhaustion. I focus on results. I am a person of great faith.

 

******************************************************************************

Anirudh

Leave a Reply

